Annual Player Fees

The following is an explanation of the 2021 Annual Football Membership fees:


Football Canada

$15 yearly fee


Football Canada is the governing body for ALL football in Canada. In June 2016, BC became a member of Football Canada in order to benefit from all national programs. BC has input at a national level regarding rules & player development plus participating at all national sanctioned events. Membership is mandatory and has to be done first at 2019 National Registration via the BCPFA website.

BC Provincial Football Association (BCPFA)

$23 ($13 BCPFA membership & $10 insurance)

The BCPFA is our Provincial governing body for ALL Football in BC. This includes the BCCFA, BCFC Junior Football, BCFOA and UBC. They manage the required Insurance, U16 Western Challenge and U18 Canada cup teams, and will be implementing some new Football Canada programs (go to the website for more information). This fee is paid automatically when you register with your local club, and has always been built into Registration.


BC Community Football Association (BCCFA)

$20 ($10 BCCFA membership & $10 coaching development)


The BCCFA is the governing body for Community Football, including Spring Flag, and Tackle Programs across the Province, and facilitates the Provincials for Community Football. Coaching Development is a priority, with a focus on Making Ethical Decisions, Safe Contact and Intro to Competition certification delivered by the BCPFA. The 5 Zones include VICFA, VMFL, VCFL, SIFC, and North. This fee is paid automatically when you register with your local club and has always been built into Registration.


Age Groups

Standardized two-year age categories and designations are set by Football Canada and athletes must be UNDER the age on December 31st of the current year (ie. an athlete cannot play in the U16 division if they are turning 16 in that calendar year).

Age groups for 2021:

U8: 2014 + 2015

U10:  2012 + 2013

U12: 2010 + 2011

U14: 2008 + 2009

U16: 2006 + 2007

U18: 2004 + 2005

Adult (18+): 2003 and older

Age groups for 2022:

U8: 2015 + 2016

U10:  2013 + 2014

U12: 2011 + 2012

U14: 2009 + 2010

U16: 2007 + 2008

U18: 2005 + 2006

Adult (18+): 2004 and older

*Players must play in their age group UNLESS they fall under one of the following two exemptions:

1) If a player has no participation pathway, they can be moved to a different age group pending the approval of the BCPFA

2) If the current age category does not fit the developmental age of the player, they can be moved up or down an age category pending the approval of the BCPFA